Reviews

Reviews taken directly from Facebook, BedandBreakfast.com, and TripAdvisor

“New Owners, New Amenities, New Friends”

5 of 5 bubblesReviewed March 19, 2017

We were already sold on the town (so much so we’ve chose it for our future home) already familiar with the restaurants & shops and already enjoyed previous stays at this lovely inn but we were not ready to have the same exceptional service (and then some) by the new owners. You would think that Kim and Matt have been doing this forever as they make it seem effortless. Unfortunately we were only in town for one night but it recharged us, pampered us and Kim’s scrumptious breakfast kept us sustained till dinner! This is a MUST for all B&B’ers…it will set the bar by which all others will be compared!

Room Tip: Each room has unique features! Not all have fireplaces.
See more room tips
Green Features: The bath products provided to guests, as well as linens, bedding & towels are of the highest quality!

Stayed March 2017, traveled as a couple

“5 star in all categories”

5 of 5 bubblesReviewed March 20, 2017

extreme clean ,comfortable
with a great cook in a quiet sleepy town
walk to all stores and restaurants and harbor
soon to have a boat for excursions
Thus will be particurly nice in the spring .summer and fall

Room Tip: It is not a hotel rather a bed and breakfest

“Inn at Onancock is Exquisite”

5 of 5 bubblesReviewed 3/16/17 via mobile

Every detail of our stay was exquisite! Friendly hosts? Check. Gorgeous inn? Wine-and-cheese welcome with genteel conversation? Check and check. Scrumptious bedding? Great night’s sleep? Coffee service at our door in the morning? Fabulous healthy breakfast? No rush to leave? Check, check, check, check, and check. We will most assuredly return.

Stayed March 2017, traveled as a couple

“Weekend at Inn at Onancock”

5 of 5 at TripAdvisor.com on March 5, 2017

My wife and I met another couple at the Inn for a B&B Weekend. I can’t say enough good things about the Inn itself and about Onancock as a weekend destination.

First, the Inn is an 1890s house just off the main street with excellent amenities, wonderful beds and enormous, relaxing bathtubs. But the best part are the new owners, Kim and Matt, who went out of their way to make us feel welcome and “family.” Kim’s breakfasts are to die for and the sitting room by the fire was a welcoming, warm place for us, our friends and the other guests. Just a superb place to stay.

The town is very walkable, there are a number of excellent restaurants (Kim will make reservations), antique stores and art galleries (and an art colony in the repurposed old junior high!) and the history is amazing. We are boaters, so we were interested in the developing harbor and its new facilities. Best donuts in Virginia at the Corner Bakery, just a few steps from the Inn. A great weekend getaway.

Bob K.

Room Tip: We were in the Williamsburg Room and it was fine; I think all rooms are probably equally good.
See more room tips
Green Features: Since I have to write fifty characters I can say with more words that I didn’t have a chance to see any environmental practices, but I suspect Kim and Matt are good stewards of the environment.

Stayed March 2017, traveled with friends

“Wonderful weekend getaway!!”

5 of 5 at TripAdvisor.com on March 2, 2017

My husband and I recently stayed at the Inn at Onancock. We arrived later than probably would’ve been ideal for the innkeepers but they were so gracious in waiting up for us to arrive. As soon as we drove up, we were greeted by Matt and their gorgeous dog, Freya. We instantly felt like we were just arriving at a friend’s house. Matt was so welcoming and helpful in getting us settled in. Unfortunately, Kim was away for the weekend and we were sad we didn’t get to meet her. BUT, we will just have to come back so we can meet her! 🙂

We stayed in the Williamsburg room and it was wonderful. The bathroom with its chandelier, vaulted ceilings, and jacuzzi tub for 2 was a real treat. The room also had a fireplace that we would’ve loved to have used if it hadn’t happened to be an unusually warm weekend in February. 😉 The room was clean and neat and was the perfect place to spend our weekend getaway.

The coffee/tea brought to our door in the mornings was a perfect touch. It was a real treat to have it waiting outside our door when we woke up. The breakfast was delicious and cooked fresh each day. All of it was just perfect.

We LOVED “Wine Down Hour”. Matt made some delicious hors d’oeuvre and provided a good wine selection of white and red. We really enjoyed chatting with and getting to know the other guests as well as Matt.

Matt was a superb host and was very knowledgeable about the surrounding area and its places to eat and drink. He directed us to the nearby Chatham Winery which we did a wine tasting at and it was just lovely.

Overall we give the Inn at Onancock 5 out of 5 stars! We plan to come back and visit again and can’t recommend it enough. Go and stay with Matt and Kim – we promise you will feel like you’re staying a the lovely home of dear friends.

Thank you Matt and Kim! Keep up the great work!!

Stayed February 2017, traveled as a couple

“caring owners and wonderful experience”

5 of 5 at TripAdvisor.com on February 26, 2017

We just spent one night at The Inn at Onancock this weekend but we will surely return for a longer stay. The house is charming and well-kept, the owners are charming and welcoming. We stayed in the Tuscany room – lovely to look at , with a very comfortable bed. The bathroom (actually everything) was spotless and the coffee tray in the morning a real treat. We had a highly recommended breakfast and the Wine Down Hour was a treat (with little canapes). The hosts have lots of info about the town and surrounding area, but just walking through the streets was relaxing. Highly recommended.

Stayed February 2017, traveled as a couple

“Onancock the way it should be”

5 of 5 at TripAdvisor.com on February 27, 2017

In town for the first time in 33 years for a family event, we booked on the recommendation of a former local. What a wonderful experience! In addition to the wonderful rooms (we were in Tuscany) and delicious breakfast, we appreciated the other unexpected nice touches. Like coffee magically appearing on a butlers tray outside the room before breakfast and wine and goodies served at 5:30 in the evening with convivial conversation.

Matt was flying solo this weekend with a full house and was the consummate host. It’s hard to imagine how the hospitality could have been improved with Kim in Situ but we were promised (by Matt) that she is even better at making guests feel welcome.

The Inn at Onancock is now the standard by which we will judge all future properties.

Stayed February 2017, traveled with family

“Off-Season Getaway”

5 of 5 at TripAdvisor.com on February 27, 2017

My wife and I have a February tradition of staying a night or two at a pseudo-local hotel or B&B (we lived in Salisbury). We knew of this off-the-beaten-path B&B and decided to check it out, and we were glad for that decision during every minute of our time there! We were personally welcomed by our names on the chalk welcome board, as well as Kim opening the door to the heavenly scent of bacon cooking in the oven. Everything, from the evening hors d’oeuvres, to the room with Jacuzzi, to the three-course breakfast was excellent. Most of all, Matt and Kim are easily the best hosts we’ve even had at a B&B. They strike the perfect balance of being welcoming and hospitable, but also space to breathe. The Inn at Onancock is worth the trip, you need to check it out!

Room Tip: The Maine room has the biggest bed and nicest Jacuzzi tub.
See more room tips
Green Features: They offer guests a Tesla charging station. (we didn’t use it but it’s there)

Stayed February 2017, traveled as a couple

“A Special Weekend in Onancock”

5 of 5 at TripAdvisor.com on February 21, 2017

What a wonderful night at the Inn at Onancock! Matt and Kim are amazing hosts who know how to pamper you. From the exceptional food to the comfortable, inviting spaces, the Inn at Onancock is a very special place.

Stayed February 2017, traveled as a couple

“First time B&B experience was fabulous!”

5 of 5 at TripAdvisor.com on February 15, 2017

Matt and Kim have been led to Onancock and this beautiful B&B, They made us feel welcome and comfortable from the minute we arrived. Along with their sweet dog we were greeted at the door with warm southern hospitality. The house is beautiful and spotlessly clean. This is only surpassed by the amenities – offers of hot tea, Wine Down Hour in the late afternoon, coffee at our door in the morning, a delicious breakfast – the list is endless. We stayed in the Far East Room. It was very nice and the on suite bathroom with the spa tub was great. Kim made our dinner reservation for us at the Wharf and answered all our questions about the immediate area.
We will definitely be returning to the Inn at Onancock for a getaway and plan to bring friends with us.

Stayed February 2017, traveled as a couple

“Wonderful Anniversary!!”

5 of 5 at BedandBreakfast.com on February 13, 2017

Thank you Matt & Kim!! We came down from Maryland for a quick overnight getaway- absolutely beautiful bed & breakfast- the hosts extremely gracious & helpful with recommendations for dinner, activities etc. Wonderful appetizers & breakfast- Kim is a fabulous cook. We will be recommending to family, friends, & coworkers.

Stayed February 2017, traveled as a couple

“Incredible!”

4.8 of 5 at BedandBreakfast.com on February 09, 2017

The stay at the Inn at Onancock was great. From the minute we were welcomed at the door until we said our goodbyes, the owners were most gracious and extremely hospitable! Kim is an amazing cook!! We are looking forward to coming back.

“Our Anniversary with New Friends”

5 Stars on Facebook Review: Jan. 30, 2017

We are headed back from such a wonderful weekend at The Inn at Onancock, and we are not ready to go back to reality! Kim and Matt were such wonderful hosts, we felt more like we were visiting friends than just travelers spending the night. Such an amazing, quiet weekend away for our 17th wedding anniversary. Good food, wonderful accommodations and such a quaint town. Thank you Kim and Matt for helping to make it so special, we hope to see you again soon!.

“Must-Stay Location on Eastern Shore”

5 on BedandBreakfast.com Reviewed Jan. 30, 2017

We have stayed at the Inn at Onancock on five different occasions. It has become our go-to location whenever we are traveling up or down the Eastern Shore. The rooms are extremely comfortable (we have stayed in Tuscany, Provence, Williamsburg and Maine), but the real discriminator is the “Wine Down” hour with the owners and the other guests. Our latest visit was with the new owners, and we enjoyed our stay even more than previous visits.

“The entire house was beautiful and comfortable, with wonderful themed bedrooms”

5 of 5 bubbles: TripAdvisor Reviewed Jan. 29, 2017

This was a great experience in all aspects. The new owners, Kim and Matt, were delightfully accommodating. The Inn’s location was close to the center of Onancock, a few blocks from the wharf, and central to all of Eastern Shore Virginia. The breakfast were delicious. The furnishings were beautiful and comfortable, the rooms were immaculate. The weekend exceeded our expectations.

Stayed January 2017, traveled with friends

“A wonderful getaway in a beautiful bed & breakfast”

5 of 5 bubbles: TripAdvisor Reviewed Jan. 29, 2017

My wife and I are staying here with friends to attend alumni events in charming Onancock. The Inn is under new management since the last time we stayed here. Kim and Matt are the perfect hostess and host–friendly, informative and helpful. They immediately made us all feel like family. Their large female German Shepherd loves the attention she gets from new arrivals, but otherwise is “all business,” sniffing us and our luggage thoroughly as we checked in. This morning she made the rounds at the breakfast table as if to make sure we had what we needed. She’s so big that she could look down at our plates. No begging though. Once she was satisfied, she went back to the kitchen. As I sat down to write this review, she walked through the sitting room, looked at both of us, as if to verify that we were enjoying the peace, and then left. Fun!

The evening started with their “Wine Down Hour,” where we were served our choice of beverages which included beer, hard cider and some excellent wine. Kim served several delicious home-made hors d’oeuvres which included some wonderful marinated vegetables. We must get the recipe! Breakfast was just as scrumptious. I started with baked grapefruit which I loved. The buffet bar included granola, nuts, berries, just baked muffins, etc. The egg and cheese soufflé was to die for. One of the group chose an alternative to the soufflé and loved it.

You can choose your favorite morning beverage in the evening which is delivered to your door at 7:30 am. As I’m a very early riser, I appreciated the Keurig coffee machine across the hall.

The building itself is beautiful, inside and out. The proprietors have done an excellent job of maintaining the charm of the architecture and interior layout while adding modern fixtures. Our bathroom looked brand new. The shower operation is “interesting.” It reminded me of the challenge of showering in English hotels. But, with a little thought, I figured it out and loved it.

Onancock has its “Generica” strip (Walmart, Dollar Store, McDonalds, etc.), on the outskirts, but the historic district within a short walk has none of that. All the businesses are unique, local entities. There are several good places to eat and party and, if you’re an antique shopper, Onancock should be on your must-visit list. Just a few miles down the road is Turner’s Sculpture where you can see many breathtakingly gorgeous pieces.

The Inn is the perfect place to wind down, get away from the traffic and frustrations of life and work. We’ll return often.
Stayed January 2017, traveled with friends
..

“Thank you!”

K and I would just like to thank you both again for being so great. We’re already planning a return trip very soon. It was an unforgettable experience..

Email excerpt January 21, 2017

“Birthday Gift”

We stayed at the Inn last night for my husband’s birthday. It was our first time at a B & B. Kim and Matt were wonderful, they were very welcoming and fun to talk with. Our room was just beautiful. We enjoyed the wine-down, complete with delicious snacks. They made us a dinner reservation at the Charlotte Hotel and Restaurant, which was excellent. The breakfast was terrific! Fresh fruits, yogurt, granola, fresh blueberry muffins, cheese soufflé, bacon and homemade cookies! We really enjoyed ourselves! Kim and Matt, we wish you much success with your new venture. You really love what you do, and it shows!.

Facebook review January 20, 2017

“Wow!”

Wow! What a wonderful time we had with you “all”. Catherine and I have stayed at Bed and Breakfasts and Inns from the Mid Atlantic to Northern New England and you certainly set the bar for all others to follow. Your Inn, food and hospitality exceed all others. I felt when I first talked to you on the phone that something good was going to come out of our stay and I was not disappointed. We left yesterday thinking that we made new friends that we will keep for a long time to come. Catherine and I wish you the best of luck and success with your new life on the Eastern Shore of Virginia..

Published January 10, 2017

“Where to Stay on the Eastern Shore”

The Girl and Globe – link to Article.

Published January 10, 2017

“New Years Get Away”

5 of 5 bubbles: TripAdvisor Reviewed Jan. 2, 2017
Kim and Matt are the most delightful hosts. They saw to our every need and were great folks to just sit and get to know. Our room was cozy and I loved the claw foot tub! The breakfast both mornings was absolutely delicious. Eggs Benedict and Belgian Waffles. New Years Day there were no restaurants open and Kim made us yummy chili. Just what we needed. The atmosphere is warm and inviting, as Kim and Matt serve with classy professionalism and down to earth love. We loved our stay and hope to return.

Stayed January, 2017, traveled as a couple

“Simply Outstanding”

5 of 5 bubbles: TripAdvisor Reviewed Jan. 2, 2017The reviews of this Inn were spot on. We were made to feel at home from the moment we arrived. From the little details as we entered to the greeting from Freya at the door, Kim and Matt were wonderful hosts. The food was exceptional and the room (Tuscany) was cozy and warm. Great restaurants are within walking distance and you aren’t far from other eastern shore activities. It was a fantastic get-away. I would highly recommend it if you are looking for a great B&B experience.

Room Tip: Tuscany was a fantastic room

“Beyond Perfection!”

5 of 5 bubbles: TripAdvisor reviewed Jan. 1. 2017

We had not originally intended to stay in Onancock and had actually booked a room online at a Chincoteague B&B. We were surprised to get a call from the owner that their inn would not be open that week. LUCKY for us that we instead chose The Inn at Onancock. We were treated like we were something very special. Every need was anticipated…every detail attended. Kim and Matt were meant to be innkeepers.The room was immaculate and perfect. The bath was roomy and luxurious. Breakfast was a delicious combination of delights that fueled us for the day. We have stayed at many B&B’s over the years (46) and this one ranked very near the top. It is a jewel of a place in a jewel of a town. If you’ve never been to Onancock you will be amazed at its personality for such a tiny place.

Stayed January 2017, traveled as a couple

“Winter Stop at the Inn at Onancock”

5 of 5 bubbles: Reviewed Dec. 17, 2016 – TripAdvisor Review

Kim and Matt are charming hosts. Attending to small details seems to be their forte. From the personalized welcome sign to the morning coffee left just outside our room door, they wowed us with their warm and gracious hospitality. We are not drinkers, but that didn’t phase them. At their evening Wind Down Hour, they offered us a scrumptious mocktail they’d been working on perfecting. It came with delicious homemade tapenade, crostini, and various yummy cheeses.

Our hosts made dinner reservations for us at a superb local restaurant called Bizzotto’s, which was a short walk from the Inn. Other local businesses within easy walking distance include a bakery, a playhouse, a movie theater, a few art galleries, and several restaurants.

We stayed in the Inn’s one dog friendly room with our canine companion. The room was lovely and pristine….featuring a private bath with a Jacuzzi. Breakfast was perfect…cranberry muffins, homemade granola over yogurt with fruit, and eggs Benedict with smoked salmon. We will be back!

Stayed December 2016, traveled as a couple

“Onancock and the Inn make a perfect weekend getaway”

Facebook Review Dec. 11, 2016

What a delightful weekend at The Inn at Onancock. Delicious breakfasts, clean and comfy rooms. And, the new innkeepers Kim & Matt have obviously found their niche!! Onancock and the Inn make a perfect weekend getaway.

“A fabulous weekend again at the Inn at Onancock!”

Bed and Breakfast.com Review

5 of 5 on December 19, 2016

Kim and Matthew are definitely keeping up with the excellence of running the inn. We enjoyed spending time with them, especially during “wine-down”! Breakfast was superb, and all was immaculate as always. This was our fifth visit, first with Kim and Matthew in charge. Please keep up the good work! .

Icing on The cake!

Bed and Breakfast.com Review

4.6 of 5 on December 11, 2016

We wouldn’t stay anywhere else. Onancock is a charming little town on the Eastern edge of the Chesapeake. Staying at The Inn is icing on the cake!

RESERVE NOW

RESERVE NOW