Reviews

Reviews taken directly from Facebook, BedandBreakfast.com, and TripAdvisor

“Fantastic stay”

A 5* review on 7/17/2017 at Yelp was my pleasure!

Fantastic stay. Lovely rooms with great attention to detail. Friendly innkeepers. I would stay there again next time

“Mixed Feelings”

5 out of 5 on Hotels.com

Mixed Feelings

Posted Jul 6, 2017

Innkeeper was fabulous and very accommodating but the other businesses in the area were not service oriented. Most of the businesses restaurants and shoe were closed on Sunday and Monday. Those that were open did not seemed to care for their customers need.

“Best kept secret of the Eastern Shore”

10.0 out of 10 on Booking.com reviewed July 4, 2017

Best kept secret of the Eastern Shore

🙂 Owners do a great job making sure you are pampered.

🙁 That I couldn’t stay longer

“Wonderful weekend in Onancock VA”

10.0 out of 10.0 on Booking.com reviewed July 5, 2017

Wonderful weekend in Onancock VA

🙂 What set this apart was the happy hour at 6 pm. where we gathered and got to know one another. Very welcoming and never awkward. Lots of good vibes and laughter.

🙁 Bathroom needed a hook.

“My first B&B”

5 out of 5 on TripAdvisor, Reviewed July 4, 2017

This was my first B&B and wow did I do it right. I highly recommend The Inn at Onancock. I will definitely come back. From the warm hospitality to the wine down and the smell of an extravagant breakfast and hot coffee at my door each morning I was definitely spoiled. The place is immaculate and the town was so much fun. I woke early Sunday to take a walk and there were no cars, people or stores open. Ahhh! Great get away from the hustle and bustle of Northern Virginia. Thanks for the memories.

Stayed July 2017, traveled as a couple

“Hospitality”

5 out of 5 on TripAdvisor, Reviewed July 3, 2017

I have to say that owners Kim and Matt were excellent hosts, and were very hospitable. We had a great time and wish the stay could have been longer. The room (Williamsburg) was lovely. The sheets and towels were soft and fluffy, and we had a very nice stay. Would like to come back when we can stay a bit linger and would definitely stay here again.

Green Features: Seemed to be environmentally friendly. I do know that our recyclables were definitely recycled.
Stayed July 2017, traveled as a couple

“4th of July weekend”

4 out of 5 on TripAdvisor, Reviewed July 6, 2017

We arrived at the Inn at Onancock and was warmly greeted by owner Matt and his beautiful puppy Dante. Kim, his wife, did a terrific job with evening gatherings- creating wonderful appetizers and makings us all comfortable meeting one another. Breakfast was always delicious and relaxing.
This was a last minute trip, and how glad we are that we visited Onancock. Great Inn to visit Virginia’s Eastern Shore. We enjoyed biking, kayaking, and road trip visiting other towns.

Room Tip: We had a double bed. It was cozy- but next time I would choose a larger bed.
See more room tips

Green Features: Everything was fine and accommodating. The bathroom was large, with great lighting, although night time reading light needs improvement. I loved that they had a fridge in the garage to hold our water bottles & wine to keep them chilled.

Stayed July 2017, traveled as a couple

“Overnight stay”

5 out of 5 on TripAdvisor, Reviewed July 6, 2017

Awesome place. The owners couldn’t have been nicer or done more for our group. Went way out of their way for our friends even though they were lodged elsewhere. Great experience, would highly recommend them and plan to return ourselves. Rooms and food were outstanding!!!

Stayed June 2017, traveled with friends

“Adorable and Friendly”

Facebook review – The Inn at Onancock — 5 star – June 19, 2017

Onancock is an adorable, friendly town and the Inn at Onancock is the best! Kim is a fantastic cook and she and Matt have created an absolutely perfect atmosphere in their beautiful home. Beginning with coffee at your door at 7 (so you don’t have to suffer through dressing for breakfast without caffeine!), gorgeous breakfasts with interesting guests and ending with the “Wine Down” in the evening – this is a place to visit again and again! We loved it and we’ll be back!

“Keeps Getting Better!”

5 out of 5 on TripAdvisor – June 27, 2017

We have stayed at this Inn and have written previous reviews but wanted to let the owners and the public know how wonderful our recent stay was! It was a last minute decision to spend a night in the town we will soon be calling home. The inn was booked for the weekend but a cancellation came through in the Provencal room. We were greeted by Kim and Freya and were shown to our room. While this room does not have a separate shower it does have a claw footed soaking tub with hand held shower attachment that was a treat! The room itself was decorated beautifully, the chaise was so comfortable to relax with a magazine, and the bed itself not only looked inviting I slept like a baby. I’m a stickler for good bedding and this exceeded my own expectations! Every amenity has been thought of and provided. Access to water, coffee & tea is convenient but the fresh brewed coffee delivered to our room on Sunday morning was delightful and an added bonus! Wine down at 5:30 enabled us to sit with Matt & Kim for some great conversation and scrumptious appetizers and peruse the beautiful rooms, viewing the artwork they have on display and just enjoying the feeling of utter comfort. Breakfast the following morning was not a disappointment! Yogurt, homemade granola & fresh fruit to start, warm muffins, a feta & spinach frittata with bacon, fresh orange juice and their special blend of coffee put this stay over the top! Kim & Matt are the perfect hosts and keep improving on an already great thing! Onancock is a great little walking town and this Inn is centrally located to it all! When considering a place to stay this is it! You are in for a treat! Thanks Kim & Matt!
Room Tip: We have stayed in the Feng Shui room, the Tuscany Room & the Provencal room and all are wonderful…
See more room tips
• Stayed June 2017, traveled as a couple

“Exceptional Hosts, Beautiful Inn, Great Experience”

5 out of 5 on Hotels.com – Posted Jun 25, 2017

The Inn was fantastic with the exceptional hosts being the most wonderful aspect of the experience. They could not have been more pleasant or accommodating. The Inn was beautiful, incredibly clean and well decorated. The breakfast was delicious and the company delightful. Staying at the Inn was the highlight of the trip and visit to a charming town.

“One of our Favorites!”

5 out of 5 Bubbles on TripAdvisor – Reviewed June 20, 2017

This is a terrific BnB. The owners are amazing and personable. They will make you feel at home. Food is always over the top. We’ve stayed three times and have never been disappointed. The house is beautiful and perfect. Highly recommended.

Stayed June 2017, traveled as a couple

“Our Anniversary Trip”

5 out of 5 on BedandBreakfast.com Thursday, June 8, 2017

My husband and I came to Onancock to escape our busy lives and celebrate our anniversary. Kim and Matt were by far the most welcoming couple. We felt like we were at home right when we arrived! The beautifully decorated rooms, fabulous “wine down” hour, tasty breakfast, friendly guests that we became friends with, and the absolute best hospitality we’ve experienced made for the best anniversary we have had thus-far! We will be returning very soon and will forever be grateful for Kim and Matt’s imprint on us.

Between 26-35 years old, Almost never stays at B&Bs

“Great place to stay in Onancock!”

10.0 of 10.0 on Booking.com on June 12, 2017

Very friendly owners. Wonderful breakfasts and lovely rooms. Walk to town and boat ramps. All good in Onancock!

“Wonderful place, delightful service as if you were welcomed into their home”

5 of 5 bubbles on TripAdvsor, June 20, 2017

Comfortable room, excellent friendly service, wonderful breakfast. A perfect stay. We went off to Tangier island and could leave the car in their lot. They looked after our suitcases etc. Very knowledgeable about environs and a great help. We were able to get our boat tickets from them too.

Stayed June 2017, traveled with family

“A Special Spot”

5 of 5 bubbles on TripAdvsor, June 8, 2017

After a bumpy ride by boat across the Chesapeake this place was the perfect place to stay. A short walk from the dock, we were greeted by Kim and welcomed. The house is immaculate, the rooms are very comfortable and had everything we needed. We enjoyed the wine and delicious appetizers at 5:30 with Kim and Matt and could have stayed and talked with them for hours had our stomachs not been calling. A walk to the bakery early in the morning gave us a special treat before a very special and delicious breakfast – the egg soufflé was incredible. All in all a perfect spot. My only complaint was we were not there long enough to do all I wanted to do. I guess that means a return visit in the future!

Stayed June 2017, traveled with friends

“Exceptional experience and perfect location!”

5 of 5 bubbles on TripAdvsor, June 7, 2017

If you are looking for the perfect spot to explore the Eastern Shore of Virginia, book a room at The Inn at Onancock. We visited beautiful in for a birthday weekend celebration. Kim warmly welcomed us upon our arrival along with their pet German Shepard, Freya ( what a sweetie)!

Each evening at 5:30 “Wine Down” takes place. Kim serves three appetizers and multiple selections of wine are offered. This is included in your nightly price. Every morning, a tray with coffee was brought and left outside of our room to enjoy while getting ready for breakfast or to take out on the wraparound porch. These are added bonuses! The gourmet breakfast is served with homemade granola and fresh fruit along with warm muffins and delicious shortbread cookies are a great ending to the meal.

The weekend we visited, we made instant connections with the other guests. We really enjoyed everyone’s company and plan to keep in contact with them. This was made possible through the efforts of Kim and Matt who joined us each evening at “Wine Down.”

We are former innkeepers and critique the places where we stay. Only positives for this inn and the innkeepers! Thanks Kim and Matt for a memorable stay!

Stayed May 2017, traveled as a couple

“Absolutely the best…”

5 of 5 bubbles on TripAdvsor, June 7, 2017

My husband and I just returned from an awesome stay at the Inn at Onancock.

The Inn is clearly a labor of love for hosts Kim and Matt. From the coffee outside the room door at 0730 to the delicious food and wonderful company, nothing was overlooked.

The Inn itself is really beautiful…Onancock is a charming town, the water is inviting and there is plenty to keep most anyone busy and wishing to stay longer. As a matter of fact, my husband and I have all but decided to retire here.

So, thank you Matt and Kim…we will be back.

Oh, the most wonderful surprise is Freya…what a wonderful ambassador for her breed!

“Become family in beautiful surroundings”

10 out of 10 on Booking.com June 5, 2017

The Inn is not just a beautiful building with a lot of flair, but the hosts are way more than just inn keepers who maintain a clean and neat house. Rather, they welcome their guests like old friends and create a very warm, welcoming atmosphere, turning their guests into a type of little family. Extremely helpful and full of suggestions if needed. It’s an outstanding place and I cannot recommend it highly enough.

“Not to be missed Top Notch Inn!”

5 out of 5 in all categories, TripAdvisor review, May 31, 2017

Stayed here three nights with my wife and had a fabulous time! Matt and Kim are excellent hosts and create an enjoyable atmosphere for their guests. From the tasty breakfasts, to the “wine down” hour, to the excellent rooms, we found this Inn and the town of Onancock a welcome respite. We stayed in the Williamsburg room, which had a comfortable bed and large bathroom, jetted tub with an elegant chandelier.

Walk (short) to several good restaurants in town, or drive a short distance to the island house or Chatham winery. We enjoyed the wine down hour and getting to know Matt and Kim and the other guests so much we didn’t want to miss it! Don’t worry about staying touch if on business because Matt made sure that the internet connection is reliable and fast. There is a charging port outside if you happen to drive your electric vehicle, and Matt and Kim make sure to buy locally grown food for their excellent breakfast. Locally roasted coffee outside your room in the morning is a nice bonus.

My wife called ahead of time and Kim provided concierge like service in getting us tickets to Tangier Island, restaurant recommendations, and reservations for a pony tour in Chincoteague. Thanks Kim and Matt!!

Room Tip: They are all different. Williamsburg has large bath with jetted tub and was quiet.

Green Features: Locally sourced food and charging stations for your electric vehicle
Stayed May 2017, traveled as a couple

“Outstanding”

5 in all categories, Bed and Breakfast.com

Monday, May 15, 2017

Thanks so much for a wonderful experience. Couldn’t have been more pleasant. Made to feel welcome and enjoyed meeting other guests. Breakfast was a gourmet delight!

East to find, a fun little town to walk through.

55+ years old, Frequently stays at B&Bs

“A Local Getaway”

Terry and I had a last-minute notion to drive 40 miles from our home in Cape Charles and spend a night in Onancock. The Inn at Onancock looked attractive. We called and booked the last remaining room. The 5:30 wine and hors d’oeuvres gathering sounded so inviting that we changed our plans so that we would arrive early enough to attend. Our fellow guests were a diverse group but one which was quickly at ease with one another. Breakfast was a two course old-fashioned country delight. The room rate (plus tax) was the total cost of our visit. We left with the conviction that we would be back soon.

Mike and Terry Strub
Cape Charles, Virginia

“A perfect introduction to Onancock, VA”

5 out of 5 bubbles on TripAdvisor, Reviewed May 29, 2017

Kim and Matt were the ultimate hosts. The other guests, and I, felt a warm welcome that encouraged us to be open, friendly and enjoy our stay. The home was exquisitely kept … including the gardens. I highly recommend staying at the Inn at Onancock!

Stayed May 2017, traveled with friends

“Superb Experience”

5 out of 5 bubbles on TripAdvisor, Reviewed May 24, 2017

The Inn at Onancock is outstanding in every manner. The hosts, Matt and Kim are naturals; gracious, warm and engaging. There are numerous thoughtful details throughout the Inn which enhance your visit, starting with the coffee tray sitting outside your door early in the morning and late afternoon wine served in the parlor. Kim is a gifted chef. The breakfast was sublime, with an egg souffle, sausage and muffins. Our room was well appointed, bright and pristine. The bed was perfect with lush sheets and down comforter. Our stay was memorable and we plan on returning.

Stayed May 2017, traveled as a couple

“The best place to stay is The Inn at Onancock!!!!”

5 out of 5 bubbles on TripAdvisor, Reviewed May 22, 2017

I had a perfectly wonderful 2 night stay! Kim and Matt are the perfect host and hostess! They are so friendly and relaxed and made all of us feel right at home. I stayed in the Far East room and the bed was so comfortable and the bathroom had every amenity I needed. They also provide chilled and hot beverages at all times, coffee or tea brought to your room each morning before breakfast and a wine hour with delicious hors d’oeuvres. The best part is Kim’s homemade breakfast in the morning!!!!! It was fabulous!!

Stayed May 2017, traveled with friends

“An excellent inn to spend a night or two at with extremely gracious hosts”

5 out of 5 on Bed and Breakfast.com on May 5, 2017

We spent 1 evening here on our way home from a weeks vacation. My wife and I were so glad we did. From the moment we arrived Kim and Matt made us feel as if we were not guests but friends. Kim showed us to our room (Tuscany) and explained everything about the Inn and the amenities provided. Our room was well decorated and very comfortable. A selection of tea, coffee, sodas, and water was available for the guests.

We met our fellow guests during the Wine down hour. This was a chance to meet them while being served several appetizers Kim had prepared. There is a selection of wine, beer and non-alcoholic drinks provided. On our visit we had a feta cheese dip and bacon wrapped apricots. Both were excellent and ‘hot from the oven fresh’. During the Wine down hour – which I believe as about 90 minutes – we got to know everyone and they got to know us. Matt and Kim shared their recommendations on restaurants and activities and we were glad we took them up on them.

The morning starts with coffee or tea served to your room which is a very nice touch. After the appetizers at the Wine down hour my wife and I were expecting a great breakfast and Kim did not disappoint. Fresh granola, yogurt, and berries along with blueberry muffins started the meal. This was followed by the absolutely best soufflé I have ever had. It was light and extremely tasty and served with a bit of fresh fruit and bacon. An phenomenal start to a day.

During breakfast Kim and Matt asked everyone of their plans and made more suggestions on things to do during the day. Matt even went and purchased ferry tickets for one couple.

The Inn is a gem and Kim and Matt are extremely gracious. We felt at home and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We look forward to returning and tasting more of Kim’s excellent cooking.

I highly recommend you stay at the Inn. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: The Tuscany room is large and has a great shower.

Stayed May 2017, traveled as a couple

“Who could ask for anything more? It is Great!”

5 out of 5 bubbles on TripAdvisor on May 8, 2017

We have stayed at the Inn several times in recent months while renovations have been underway at a property we recently acquired. I can tell that even when our place becomes habitable, we will seek out Kim and Matt’s company and (we hope) join them by pulling up a rocking chair on their porch!

Truly, you could not ask for more… Kim and Matt have done a masterful job in making their Inn a perfect gem. Details have been attended to yet nothing is “fussy.” Each room is unique in its character and wonderfully comfortable. As the sun fades, visitors join their hosts on the porch or in the garden with a glass of wine in hand. Somehow everyone feels as if they have known one another for years. Conviviality reigns supreme.

Breakfast adds a whole other dimension to the experience. It’s huge, varied, and delicious… and topped off with Kim’s signature buttery shortbread cookie. What a treat. If I sound enthusiastic it is because I am. Onancock itself is charming in every way – its waterfront, stately old homes, and historic landmarks. The Inn at Onancock extends all of that into a most pleasurable inn experience. Kim and Matt have set the bar high when it comes to inns and innkeepers.

Room Tip: just look at the Inn’s web-site, each room is unique

Green Features: Kim and Matt clearly care about Onancock and the Eastern Shore of Virginia. They are doing everything possible to preserve it and show their guests what a special place it is.

Stayed April 2017, traveled as a couple

“An amazing inn with excellent hosts and amenities”

5 of 5 in all BedandBreakfast.com categories

Monday, May 8, 2017

We spent 1 evening here on our way home from a weeks vacation. My wife and I were so glad we did. From the moment we arrived Kim and Matt made us feel as if we were not guests but friends. Kim showed us to our room (Tuscany) and explained everything about the Inn and the amenities provided. Our room was well decorated and very comfortable. A selection of tea, coffee, sodas, and water was available for the guests.

We met our fellow guests during the Wine down hour. This was a chance to meet them while being served several appetizers Kim had prepared. There is a selection of wine, beer and non-alcoholic drinks provided. On our visit we had a feta cheese dip and bacon wrapped apricots. Both were excellent and ‘hot from the oven fresh’. During the Wine down hour – which I believe was about 90 minutes – we got to know everyone and they got to know us. Matt and Kim shared their recommendations on restaurants and activities and we were glad we took them up on them.

The morning starts with coffee or tea served to your room which is a very nice touch. After the appetizers at the Wine down hour my wife and I were expecting a great breakfast and Kim did not disappoint. Fresh granola, yogurt, and berries along with blueberry muffins started the meal. This was followed by the absolutely best soufflé I have ever had. It was light and extremely tasty and served with a bit of fresh fruit and bacon. An phenomenal start to a day.

During breakfast Kim and Matt asked everyone of their plans and made more suggestions on things to do during the day. Matt even went and purchased ferry tickets for one couple.

The Inn is a gem and Kim and Matt are extremely gracious. We felt at home and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We look forward to returning and tasting more of Kim’s excellent cooking.

I highly recommend you stay at the Inn. You will not be disappointed.

55+ years old, Frequently stays at B&Bs,

“Wonderful trip”

5 of 5 in all BedandBreakfast.com categories

Monday, May 8, 2017

My husband and I went for a weekend away and very much enjoyed the Inn. The owners were friendly, the food was fantastic and the little touches around the Inn were wonderful. We highly recommend!

Between 26-35 years old, Almost never stays at B&Bs,

“Birthday gift”

5 of 5 in all BedandBreakfast.com categories

Sunday, April 23, 2017

The trip was a birthday gift for my wife. Booking was quick and convenient online. The room was attractive and included the amenities that made for a memorable trip. Spent two weekday nights, with wine and enticing hors d’oeuvres and the good company of the innkeepers, Kim and Matt. Tried two local restaurants recommended by Kim and Matt. Both were excellent in food and service. We loved the history and picturesque setting of Onancock, and traveled to nearby Chincoteague and Kiptokeke parks for hiking and bird watching (several “first seens”. A bonus.) A memorable trip.

55+ years old, Frequently stays at B&Bs

“Welcoming and charming hosts, wonderful food and atmosphere.”

5 of 5 bubbles on TripAdvisor, Reviewed April 30, 2017

We loved our stay at The Inn At Onancock. Kim and Matt were warm hosts and served a spectacular breakfast and a “wine down” in the afternoon. We especially enjoyed the interesting conversations we had with the hosts and other guests. Their beautiful and gentle German Shepherd was a delight.

Stayed April 2017, traveled as a couple

“Beautiful Inn with Amazingly Attentive Hosts”

5 of 5 bubbles on TripAdvisor, Reviewed April 29, 2017

Our stay at the Inn at Onancock was one of the most pleasant vacation experiences we’ve had. The inn itself is a beautiful Victorian home with incredibly comfortable, modern accommodations. Our room was spacious with a very comfortable bed, and our luxurious bathroom had an air jet tub.

Kim and Matt were incredibly warm and welcoming hosts. The breakfasts each morning were exquisite, and we so appreciated their advise on how to best enjoy our time in Onancock and the surrounding area. The “Wine Down” hour each afternoon was truly a highlight, as we so enjoyed relaxing and conversing with our hosts as well as the other guests at the inn. We truly feel that we now have friends on Virginia’s Eastern Shore, and we look forward to returning soon.

Stayed April 2017, traveled as a couple

“Wine Down With Innkeepers”

5 of 5 bubbles on TripAdvisor, Reviewed April 25, 2017

Soon after our arrival, we were enjoying wine and refreshments with Kim and Matt, our innkeepers, and getting great information on dining and sight seeing in Onancock. They really helped us enjoy this picture perfect town even helped us plan excellent stops on our way to Williamsburg. Our room and bath were beautiful and they had thought of every little touch to make a stay comfortable. It was one of the nicest B&B experiences we have ever enjoyed and there have been many.

Room Tip: We did see most of the rooms and they are all unique and comfortable
See more room tips
Green Features: Our room had excellent lighting, something frequently missing in B&B’s
Stayed April 2017, traveled with family

“Spring excursion to the Eastern Shore”

5 of 5 bubbles on TripAdvisor Reviewed April 18, 2017

What a lovely stay we had at the Onancock Inn! Kim and Matt were delightful hosts who greeted us warmly each evening at Wine Down hour and again in the morning with Kim’s bountiful and delicious breakfasts. We were grateful for Kim’s enthusiastic suggestions of places to explore and thoroughly enjoyed our discoveries up and down the Eastern Shore. The Inn manages to feel elegant, contemporary and historic all at the same time. Guests’ needs are anticipated and cared for with attention to every detail. Onancock’s historic and genteel vibe is something to be treasured. We highly recommend the Inn and look forward to a future visit!

Stayed April 2017, traveled as a couple

“Birthday Gift”

5 out of 5 on BedandBreakfast.com, reviewed on 4/23/17

The trip was a birthday gift for my wife. Booking was quick and convenient online. The room was attractive and included the amenities that made for a memorable trip. Spent two weekday nights, with wine and enticing hors d’oeuvres and the good company of the innkeepers, Kim and Matt. Tried two local restaurants recommended by Kim and Matt. Both were excellent in food and service. We loved the history and picturesque setting of Onancock, and traveled to nearby Chincoteague and Kiptokeke parks for hiking and bird watching (several “first seens”. A bonus.) A memorable trip.

“Delightful”

5 out of 5 on BedandBreakfast.com, reviewed on 4/18/17

My daughter and I enjoyed this wonderful Inn while we were in town for a local run. Lovely accommodations, delicious food, and wonderful hosts. Thank you so much for making us feel at “home”.

“Maine Room”

5 out of 5 on BedandBreakfast.com, reviewed on 4/11/17

Stayed On: 4/2017

A memorable and comfortable trip to the very picturesque and historic Onancock staying in this inn. The stay, wine and hors d’oeuvres, company, breakfasts and room all exceeded expectations. Trip was a birthday gift for my wife, and we spent two nights.

“Your Search is Over”

5 out of 5 on TripAdvisor, Reviewed April 15, 2017

Call the Inn at Onancock a “Destination Inn,” because this place is really all you need – the solid foundation of a relaxing vacation. Owners Kim and Matt are pure class, great people. We felt at home from the moment we arrived, and we can attribute this feeling to many variables – first is two people clearly doing what they love to do, which is running an Inn, valuing the important things in life, and taking care of us. Second is the good taste and cleanliness of the well-appointed rooms. Third is the food, especially the wine aperitif. One of the other guests said breakfast “was like Christmas.” It all comes down to details, from the attentiveness of Kim and Matt, welcome note outside the entrance, to the generous portions of food and availability of coffee, tea, and drinks, and more. We felt comfortable, safe, and cared for, and loved walking around town down to the lovely wharf area. Onancock is a lovely place with a creative scene much greater than its size, and thanks to our experience at the Inn at Onancock, we honestly regret not being able to stay longer. As I said at the top, you need go no further, if a lovely small-town vacation on the Eastern Shore is what you seek. Our only complaint was that we happened to visit a few weeks before the kayak rentals started for the summer season! We will be back…

Room Tip: Depends on taste and creativity – there is variety here. We chose the Williamsburg room because we…
See more room tips
Green Features: The owners seem to be focused on environmentally-friendly practices, though we honestly cannot say we know all of the details of their efforts.
Stayed April 2017, traveled as a couple

“Relaxing, wonderful stay!”

5 out of 5 on TripAdvisor, Reviewed April 16, 2017

We stayed at the Inn for a 3 day weekend. Matt and Kim were wonderful hosts and their Inn was terrific. Both my husband and I are training for different things right now, so Matt set up a cycling route for me so I could get my miles in, and helped my husband find the best places to complete his runs. Matt even came out on our ride with us and was a great tour guide!

We’ve stayed at a lot of Inns, and the food and hospitality was top notch. We loved the Wine Down hour and the breakfasts were so big we never had to eat lunch. Freya, their dog, is also a big selling point. She’s a sweetheart!

We stayed in the Maine Room and loved it. Comfortable bed, great bathroom, quiet and peaceful. The whole area is the perfect place to relax and rejuvenate. We will definitely be back!

Stayed April 2017, traveled as a couple

“Excellent Experience”

5 of 5 on TripAdvisor on April 13, 2017

I cannot say enough good things about my experience at the Inn. I was looking for an option closer to my work location, and one that wasn’t a typical hotel. I lucked out finding this B&B. The owners Kim and Matt made my feel welcome as soon as I pulled into the parking lot. The room was beautiful and the common areas were as well. Breakfast in the morning was fantastic – I shared pics with all my friends and wish I had this type of service every day! The afternoon wine and dine was also enjoyable – the conversation always entertaining. I was able to walk to restaurants every night, and enjoyed the water views in the picturesque town of Onancock. I would definitely recommend this B&B!!

Stayed March 2017, traveled on business

“Pleasant B&B”

5 of 5 on TripAdvisor on April 16, 2017

My wife and I recently stayed at the inn for a 3 day trip to the eastern shore. I had given this as a birthday gift for my wife. The inn is very nice and is kept extremely well. The new proprietors, Kim and Matt are extremely nice and very accommodating. I had picked the Williamsburg room to stay in which was spacious and nicely decorated. Matt and Kim had left a dozen long stem yellow roses in the room for my wife seeing as it was a special occasion. The wine down at 5:30 every evening was a nice time to get to know all who were staying there and Matt and Kim. Unfortunately Kim went to Florida to celebrate her fathers birthday with all of her family so we only had a short period to visit with her. Both Kim and Matt do all they can to make your stay at their inn a very pleasant experience. They serve you coffee in the morning in your room at 7:30 before breakfast at 8:30. That is something I had not experienced in other B&Bs before. My wife and I had many long conversations with Matt about where they want to go with the inn and many other topics. They have a super friendly dog ( German Shepard ) Freya who is the nicest dog you would ever meet. Onancock is a quaint little town and you can walk to anywhere you may want to go, restaurants, coffee shop and other places within 15 minutes. My wife and I are already contemplating going back for another visit to do some things we didn’t get to while we were there and we would definitely stay with Kim and Matt again. Almost forgot, the breakfasts there were very good and you certainly did not walk away feeling hungry.

Room Tip: They have online pics to choose the room you would like and also give the ace size.
See more room tips
Green Features: They have recycle containers at the beverage table and electric car charging stations.

“wonderful, certainly recommended”

4.8 of 5 on BedandBreakfast.com on March 12, 2017

my husband and I only spent one night at the Inn but we will be back soon for a longer stay. A very comfortable bed,spotlessly clean bathroom and very warm and welcoming hosts. The house is charming with historic details, their well behaved dog (Freya) a joy to be around. The Wine Down Hour is a friendly way to meet other guests and the tray in the morning a lovely treat. A great choice for anyone needing to stay in Onancock.

“Outstanding!”

5 of 5 on BedandBreakfast.com on March 22, 2017

This was an amazing place to stay! They have a 5:30 pm Wine-down where guests and hosts meet and get to know each other. Kim is a wonderful cook and hostess, and Matt and Freya (the German Shepard) are always quick to help in any way. We will definitely stay again when we are on the Eastern Shore of Virginia!

“The Perfect Overnight in Onancock”

5 of 5 on BedandBreakfast.com on March 08, 2017

The Inn at Onancock was ideal in every way. Our accommodations and service were top-notch and breakfast was beautiful and delicious. The restored and expanded Victorian house is classy but still very cozy. Kimberley was a very gracious and helpful host. Visiting with her during the late afternoon wine hour was fun and she offered excellent suggestions for shopping, dining and outings the following day. We’ve stayed at lots of B&Bs through the years but this one ranks among the very best. We’ ll be back. C and S

“A Lovely Weekend Getaway!”

5 of 5 on BedandBreakfast.com on March 02, 2017

My husband and I recently stayed at the Inn at Onancock. We arrived later than probably would’ve been ideal for the innkeepers but they were so gracious in waiting up for us to arrive. As soon as we drove up, we were greeted by Matt and their gorgeous dog, Freya. We instantly felt like we were just arriving at a friend’s house. Matt was so welcoming and helpful in getting us settled in. Unfortunately, Kim was away for the weekend and we were sad we didn’t get to meet her. BUT, we will just have to come back so we can meet her! 🙂 We stayed in the Williamsburg room and it was wonderful. The bathroom with its chandelier, vaulted ceilings, and jacuzzi tub for 2 was a real treat. The room also had a fireplace that we would’ve loved to have used if it hadn’t happened to be an unusually warm weekend in February. 😉 The room was clean and neat and was the perfect place to spend our weekend getaway. The coffee/tea brought to our door in the mornings was a perfect touch. It was a real treat to have it waiting outside our door when we woke up. The breakfast was delicious and cooked fresh each day. All of it was just perfect. We LOVED “Wine Down Hour”. Matt made some delicious hors d’oeuvre and provided a good wine selection of white and red. We really enjoyed chatting with and getting to know the other guests as well as Matt. Matt was a superb host and was very knowledgeable about the surrounding area and its places to eat and drink. He directed us to the nearby Chatham Winery which we did a wine tasting at and it was just lovely. Overall we give the Inn at Onancock 5 out of 5 stars! We plan to come back and visit again and can’t recommend it enough. Go and stay with Matt and Kim – we promise you will feel like you’re staying a the lovely home of dear friends. Thank you Matt and Kim! Keep up the great work!!…

“New Owners, New Amenities, New Friends”

5 of 5 bubblesReviewed March 19, 2017

We were already sold on the town (so much so we’ve chose it for our future home) already familiar with the restaurants & shops and already enjoyed previous stays at this lovely inn but we were not ready to have the same exceptional service (and then some) by the new owners. You would think that Kim and Matt have been doing this forever as they make it seem effortless. Unfortunately we were only in town for one night but it recharged us, pampered us and Kim’s scrumptious breakfast kept us sustained till dinner! This is a MUST for all B&B’ers…it will set the bar by which all others will be compared!

Room Tip: Each room has unique features! Not all have fireplaces.
See more room tips
Green Features: The bath products provided to guests, as well as linens, bedding & towels are of the highest quality!

Stayed March 2017, traveled as a couple

“5 star in all categories”

5 of 5 bubblesReviewed March 20, 2017

extreme clean ,comfortable
with a great cook in a quiet sleepy town
walk to all stores and restaurants and harbor
soon to have a boat for excursions
Thus will be particurly nice in the spring .summer and fall

Room Tip: It is not a hotel rather a bed and breakfest

“Inn at Onancock is Exquisite”

5 of 5 bubblesReviewed 3/16/17 via mobile

Every detail of our stay was exquisite! Friendly hosts? Check. Gorgeous inn? Wine-and-cheese welcome with genteel conversation? Check and check. Scrumptious bedding? Great night’s sleep? Coffee service at our door in the morning? Fabulous healthy breakfast? No rush to leave? Check, check, check, check, and check. We will most assuredly return.

Stayed March 2017, traveled as a couple

“Weekend at Inn at Onancock”

5 of 5 at TripAdvisor.com on March 5, 2017

My wife and I met another couple at the Inn for a B&B Weekend. I can’t say enough good things about the Inn itself and about Onancock as a weekend destination.

First, the Inn is an 1890s house just off the main street with excellent amenities, wonderful beds and enormous, relaxing bathtubs. But the best part are the new owners, Kim and Matt, who went out of their way to make us feel welcome and “family.” Kim’s breakfasts are to die for and the sitting room by the fire was a welcoming, warm place for us, our friends and the other guests. Just a superb place to stay.

The town is very walkable, there are a number of excellent restaurants (Kim will make reservations), antique stores and art galleries (and an art colony in the repurposed old junior high!) and the history is amazing. We are boaters, so we were interested in the developing harbor and its new facilities. Best donuts in Virginia at the Corner Bakery, just a few steps from the Inn. A great weekend getaway.

Bob K.

Room Tip: We were in the Williamsburg Room and it was fine; I think all rooms are probably equally good.
See more room tips
Green Features: Since I have to write fifty characters I can say with more words that I didn’t have a chance to see any environmental practices, but I suspect Kim and Matt are good stewards of the environment.

Stayed March 2017, traveled with friends

“Wonderful weekend getaway!!”

5 of 5 at TripAdvisor.com on March 2, 2017

My husband and I recently stayed at the Inn at Onancock. We arrived later than probably would’ve been ideal for the innkeepers but they were so gracious in waiting up for us to arrive. As soon as we drove up, we were greeted by Matt and their gorgeous dog, Freya. We instantly felt like we were just arriving at a friend’s house. Matt was so welcoming and helpful in getting us settled in. Unfortunately, Kim was away for the weekend and we were sad we didn’t get to meet her. BUT, we will just have to come back so we can meet her! 🙂

We stayed in the Williamsburg room and it was wonderful. The bathroom with its chandelier, vaulted ceilings, and jacuzzi tub for 2 was a real treat. The room also had a fireplace that we would’ve loved to have used if it hadn’t happened to be an unusually warm weekend in February. 😉 The room was clean and neat and was the perfect place to spend our weekend getaway.

The coffee/tea brought to our door in the mornings was a perfect touch. It was a real treat to have it waiting outside our door when we woke up. The breakfast was delicious and cooked fresh each day. All of it was just perfect.

We LOVED “Wine Down Hour”. Matt made some delicious hors d’oeuvre and provided a good wine selection of white and red. We really enjoyed chatting with and getting to know the other guests as well as Matt.

Matt was a superb host and was very knowledgeable about the surrounding area and its places to eat and drink. He directed us to the nearby Chatham Winery which we did a wine tasting at and it was just lovely.

Overall we give the Inn at Onancock 5 out of 5 stars! We plan to come back and visit again and can’t recommend it enough. Go and stay with Matt and Kim – we promise you will feel like you’re staying a the lovely home of dear friends.

Thank you Matt and Kim! Keep up the great work!!

Stayed February 2017, traveled as a couple

“caring owners and wonderful experience”

5 of 5 at TripAdvisor.com on February 26, 2017

We just spent one night at The Inn at Onancock this weekend but we will surely return for a longer stay. The house is charming and well-kept, the owners are charming and welcoming. We stayed in the Tuscany room – lovely to look at , with a very comfortable bed. The bathroom (actually everything) was spotless and the coffee tray in the morning a real treat. We had a highly recommended breakfast and the Wine Down Hour was a treat (with little canapes). The hosts have lots of info about the town and surrounding area, but just walking through the streets was relaxing. Highly recommended.

Stayed February 2017, traveled as a couple

“Onancock the way it should be”

5 of 5 at TripAdvisor.com on February 27, 2017

In town for the first time in 33 years for a family event, we booked on the recommendation of a former local. What a wonderful experience! In addition to the wonderful rooms (we were in Tuscany) and delicious breakfast, we appreciated the other unexpected nice touches. Like coffee magically appearing on a butlers tray outside the room before breakfast and wine and goodies served at 5:30 in the evening with convivial conversation.

Matt was flying solo this weekend with a full house and was the consummate host. It’s hard to imagine how the hospitality could have been improved with Kim in Situ but we were promised (by Matt) that she is even better at making guests feel welcome.

The Inn at Onancock is now the standard by which we will judge all future properties.

Stayed February 2017, traveled with family

“Off-Season Getaway”

5 of 5 at TripAdvisor.com on February 27, 2017

My wife and I have a February tradition of staying a night or two at a pseudo-local hotel or B&B (we lived in Salisbury). We knew of this off-the-beaten-path B&B and decided to check it out, and we were glad for that decision during every minute of our time there! We were personally welcomed by our names on the chalk welcome board, as well as Kim opening the door to the heavenly scent of bacon cooking in the oven. Everything, from the evening hors d’oeuvres, to the room with Jacuzzi, to the three-course breakfast was excellent. Most of all, Matt and Kim are easily the best hosts we’ve even had at a B&B. They strike the perfect balance of being welcoming and hospitable, but also space to breathe. The Inn at Onancock is worth the trip, you need to check it out!

Room Tip: The Maine room has the biggest bed and nicest Jacuzzi tub.
See more room tips
Green Features: They offer guests a Tesla charging station. (we didn’t use it but it’s there)

Stayed February 2017, traveled as a couple

“A Special Weekend in Onancock”

5 of 5 at TripAdvisor.com on February 21, 2017

What a wonderful night at the Inn at Onancock! Matt and Kim are amazing hosts who know how to pamper you. From the exceptional food to the comfortable, inviting spaces, the Inn at Onancock is a very special place.

Stayed February 2017, traveled as a couple

“First time B&B experience was fabulous!”

5 of 5 at TripAdvisor.com on February 15, 2017

Matt and Kim have been led to Onancock and this beautiful B&B, They made us feel welcome and comfortable from the minute we arrived. Along with their sweet dog we were greeted at the door with warm southern hospitality. The house is beautiful and spotlessly clean. This is only surpassed by the amenities – offers of hot tea, Wine Down Hour in the late afternoon, coffee at our door in the morning, a delicious breakfast – the list is endless. We stayed in the Far East Room. It was very nice and the on suite bathroom with the spa tub was great. Kim made our dinner reservation for us at the Wharf and answered all our questions about the immediate area.
We will definitely be returning to the Inn at Onancock for a getaway and plan to bring friends with us.

Stayed February 2017, traveled as a couple

“Wonderful Anniversary!!”

5 of 5 at BedandBreakfast.com on February 13, 2017

Thank you Matt & Kim!! We came down from Maryland for a quick overnight getaway- absolutely beautiful bed & breakfast- the hosts extremely gracious & helpful with recommendations for dinner, activities etc. Wonderful appetizers & breakfast- Kim is a fabulous cook. We will be recommending to family, friends, & coworkers.

Stayed February 2017, traveled as a couple

“Incredible!”

4.8 of 5 at BedandBreakfast.com on February 09, 2017

The stay at the Inn at Onancock was great. From the minute we were welcomed at the door until we said our goodbyes, the owners were most gracious and extremely hospitable! Kim is an amazing cook!! We are looking forward to coming back.

“Our Anniversary with New Friends”

5 Stars on Facebook Review: Jan. 30, 2017

We are headed back from such a wonderful weekend at The Inn at Onancock, and we are not ready to go back to reality! Kim and Matt were such wonderful hosts, we felt more like we were visiting friends than just travelers spending the night. Such an amazing, quiet weekend away for our 17th wedding anniversary. Good food, wonderful accommodations and such a quaint town. Thank you Kim and Matt for helping to make it so special, we hope to see you again soon!.

“Must-Stay Location on Eastern Shore”

5 on BedandBreakfast.com Reviewed Jan. 30, 2017

We have stayed at the Inn at Onancock on five different occasions. It has become our go-to location whenever we are traveling up or down the Eastern Shore. The rooms are extremely comfortable (we have stayed in Tuscany, Provence, Williamsburg and Maine), but the real discriminator is the “Wine Down” hour with the owners and the other guests. Our latest visit was with the new owners, and we enjoyed our stay even more than previous visits.

“The entire house was beautiful and comfortable, with wonderful themed bedrooms”

5 of 5 bubbles: TripAdvisor Reviewed Jan. 29, 2017

This was a great experience in all aspects. The new owners, Kim and Matt, were delightfully accommodating. The Inn’s location was close to the center of Onancock, a few blocks from the wharf, and central to all of Eastern Shore Virginia. The breakfast were delicious. The furnishings were beautiful and comfortable, the rooms were immaculate. The weekend exceeded our expectations.

Stayed January 2017, traveled with friends

“A wonderful getaway in a beautiful bed & breakfast”

5 of 5 bubbles: TripAdvisor Reviewed Jan. 29, 2017

My wife and I are staying here with friends to attend alumni events in charming Onancock. The Inn is under new management since the last time we stayed here. Kim and Matt are the perfect hostess and host–friendly, informative and helpful. They immediately made us all feel like family. Their large female German Shepherd loves the attention she gets from new arrivals, but otherwise is “all business,” sniffing us and our luggage thoroughly as we checked in. This morning she made the rounds at the breakfast table as if to make sure we had what we needed. She’s so big that she could look down at our plates. No begging though. Once she was satisfied, she went back to the kitchen. As I sat down to write this review, she walked through the sitting room, looked at both of us, as if to verify that we were enjoying the peace, and then left. Fun!

The evening started with their “Wine Down Hour,” where we were served our choice of beverages which included beer, hard cider and some excellent wine. Kim served several delicious home-made hors d’oeuvres which included some wonderful marinated vegetables. We must get the recipe! Breakfast was just as scrumptious. I started with baked grapefruit which I loved. The buffet bar included granola, nuts, berries, just baked muffins, etc. The egg and cheese soufflé was to die for. One of the group chose an alternative to the soufflé and loved it.

You can choose your favorite morning beverage in the evening which is delivered to your door at 7:30 am. As I’m a very early riser, I appreciated the Keurig coffee machine across the hall.

The building itself is beautiful, inside and out. The proprietors have done an excellent job of maintaining the charm of the architecture and interior layout while adding modern fixtures. Our bathroom looked brand new. The shower operation is “interesting.” It reminded me of the challenge of showering in English hotels. But, with a little thought, I figured it out and loved it.

Onancock has its “Generica” strip (Walmart, Dollar Store, McDonalds, etc.), on the outskirts, but the historic district within a short walk has none of that. All the businesses are unique, local entities. There are several good places to eat and party and, if you’re an antique shopper, Onancock should be on your must-visit list. Just a few miles down the road is Turner’s Sculpture where you can see many breathtakingly gorgeous pieces.

The Inn is the perfect place to wind down, get away from the traffic and frustrations of life and work. We’ll return often.
Stayed January 2017, traveled with friends
..

“Thank you!”

K and I would just like to thank you both again for being so great. We’re already planning a return trip very soon. It was an unforgettable experience..

Email excerpt January 21, 2017

“Birthday Gift”

We stayed at the Inn last night for my husband’s birthday. It was our first time at a B & B. Kim and Matt were wonderful, they were very welcoming and fun to talk with. Our room was just beautiful. We enjoyed the wine-down, complete with delicious snacks. They made us a dinner reservation at the Charlotte Hotel and Restaurant, which was excellent. The breakfast was terrific! Fresh fruits, yogurt, granola, fresh blueberry muffins, cheese soufflé, bacon and homemade cookies! We really enjoyed ourselves! Kim and Matt, we wish you much success with your new venture. You really love what you do, and it shows!.

Facebook review January 20, 2017

“Wow!”

Wow! What a wonderful time we had with you “all”. Catherine and I have stayed at Bed and Breakfasts and Inns from the Mid Atlantic to Northern New England and you certainly set the bar for all others to follow. Your Inn, food and hospitality exceed all others. I felt when I first talked to you on the phone that something good was going to come out of our stay and I was not disappointed. We left yesterday thinking that we made new friends that we will keep for a long time to come. Catherine and I wish you the best of luck and success with your new life on the Eastern Shore of Virginia..

Published January 10, 2017

“Where to Stay on the Eastern Shore”

The Girl and Globe – link to Article.

Published January 10, 2017

“New Years Get Away”

5 of 5 bubbles: TripAdvisor Reviewed Jan. 2, 2017
Kim and Matt are the most delightful hosts. They saw to our every need and were great folks to just sit and get to know. Our room was cozy and I loved the claw foot tub! The breakfast both mornings was absolutely delicious. Eggs Benedict and Belgian Waffles. New Years Day there were no restaurants open and Kim made us yummy chili. Just what we needed. The atmosphere is warm and inviting, as Kim and Matt serve with classy professionalism and down to earth love. We loved our stay and hope to return.

Stayed January, 2017, traveled as a couple

“Simply Outstanding”

5 of 5 bubbles: TripAdvisor Reviewed Jan. 2, 2017The reviews of this Inn were spot on. We were made to feel at home from the moment we arrived. From the little details as we entered to the greeting from Freya at the door, Kim and Matt were wonderful hosts. The food was exceptional and the room (Tuscany) was cozy and warm. Great restaurants are within walking distance and you aren’t far from other eastern shore activities. It was a fantastic get-away. I would highly recommend it if you are looking for a great B&B experience.

Room Tip: Tuscany was a fantastic room

“Beyond Perfection!”

5 of 5 bubbles: TripAdvisor reviewed Jan. 1. 2017

We had not originally intended to stay in Onancock and had actually booked a room online at a Chincoteague B&B. We were surprised to get a call from the owner that their inn would not be open that week. LUCKY for us that we instead chose The Inn at Onancock. We were treated like we were something very special. Every need was anticipated…every detail attended. Kim and Matt were meant to be innkeepers.The room was immaculate and perfect. The bath was roomy and luxurious. Breakfast was a delicious combination of delights that fueled us for the day. We have stayed at many B&B’s over the years (46) and this one ranked very near the top. It is a jewel of a place in a jewel of a town. If you’ve never been to Onancock you will be amazed at its personality for such a tiny place.

Stayed January 2017, traveled as a couple

“Winter Stop at the Inn at Onancock”

5 of 5 bubbles: Reviewed Dec. 17, 2016 – TripAdvisor Review

Kim and Matt are charming hosts. Attending to small details seems to be their forte. From the personalized welcome sign to the morning coffee left just outside our room door, they wowed us with their warm and gracious hospitality. We are not drinkers, but that didn’t phase them. At their evening Wind Down Hour, they offered us a scrumptious mocktail they’d been working on perfecting. It came with delicious homemade tapenade, crostini, and various yummy cheeses.

Our hosts made dinner reservations for us at a superb local restaurant called Bizzotto’s, which was a short walk from the Inn. Other local businesses within easy walking distance include a bakery, a playhouse, a movie theater, a few art galleries, and several restaurants.

We stayed in the Inn’s one dog friendly room with our canine companion. The room was lovely and pristine….featuring a private bath with a Jacuzzi. Breakfast was perfect…cranberry muffins, homemade granola over yogurt with fruit, and eggs Benedict with smoked salmon. We will be back!

Stayed December 2016, traveled as a couple

“Onancock and the Inn make a perfect weekend getaway”

Facebook Review Dec. 11, 2016

What a delightful weekend at The Inn at Onancock. Delicious breakfasts, clean and comfy rooms. And, the new innkeepers Kim & Matt have obviously found their niche!! Onancock and the Inn make a perfect weekend getaway.

“A fabulous weekend again at the Inn at Onancock!”

Bed and Breakfast.com Review

5 of 5 on December 19, 2016

Kim and Matthew are definitely keeping up with the excellence of running the inn. We enjoyed spending time with them, especially during “wine-down”! Breakfast was superb, and all was immaculate as always. This was our fifth visit, first with Kim and Matthew in charge. Please keep up the good work! .

Icing on The cake!

Bed and Breakfast.com Review

4.6 of 5 on December 11, 2016

We wouldn’t stay anywhere else. Onancock is a charming little town on the Eastern edge of the Chesapeake. Staying at The Inn is icing on the cake!

RESERVE NOW

RESERVE NOW